Hide Me

“Solitude is a chosen separation for refining your soul. Isolation is what you crave when you neglect the first.”

― Wayne Cordeiro

Today was refreshing. It felt. . .  almost pleasant to be back in school again. But I came to a home full of strangers. Not literally but they were trespassers when I wanted to be alone and recount the day’s activities in my mind. I found an unoccupied and rarely used room in the house and hid. I closed the door and I sat in the dark, musing. Today was good. Maybe too good. I felt irritated to find people in the house when I suddenly wanted to be alone after being around a crowd of people all day for the first time in a week. I guess I’m not ready for this self-imposed isolation to end. I prefer to be alone. It’s almost comforting. Its time to be back in the real world with real people, I guess. I just want to be left alone. But today I found refuge in an empty room and stayed put until the house cleared out. It felt good to be left alone and undisturbed. It does seem odd to me though, that I’m the eldest of six children and was rarely alone as a child but being alone is really all I want right now. I think its fitting. I wouldn’t mind a life filled with solitude and good books.

Leave a comment