Personal

A Caged Bird

“If everything seems under control, you’re not going fast enough.”

― Mario Andretti

Summer is officially here!

The Spring semester has finally come to a close. To be honest, it wasn’t the best semester for me. I feel like I say that after every semester. I hope next semester will be better.

I’m back at the old job that I held last summer and temporarily staying with my grandmother for the summer. I will be living on campus once again next semester. More student loans, yay.

Batman. . . .

Well, we’re taking a “break”. My birthday is next week. He’s booked a hotel for us near a beach and plans to take me out to eat at Red Lobster. Not something you normally do with your ex. I will never understand our relationship. But he’s become my rock, my safety blanket. I don’t want to ever let him go.

Superman. . .

We’ve reached some reconciliation. So far, not much has come of it. I don’t expect it to. Similar to my relationship with Batman, I’m tired of the yo-yoing. We’re friends, we’re not friends, we’re more than friends, etc. I’ll let it run whatever course it choose to take. The ball is in Superman’s court.

Me. . .

I’ve somehow got lost in the mire of everything, school, work, relationships. I feel most at peace and one with myself in a car. I know, it sounds weird. But. . . the constant, steady, familiar motion of a car, the unknown stretching before you, the world blurring pass, the wind in your hair, the out-of-control feeling of going too fast, that is when I’m happiest. It all melts away. I’m just a girl going way too fast for her problems to catch up to her. A car is a symbol of freedom for me. When I’m in my car, I feel free.

Leave a Reply

