Personal

Happy Halloween

“But I love Halloween, and I love that feeling: the cold air, the spooky dangers lurking around the corner.”

— Evan Peters

I’d nearly forgotten it was Halloween, which is so unlike me because its my favorite holiday. I wish I could say I have big plans tonight or did something exciting this past weekend but I don’t and I didn’t. I guess Halloween has become another relic of my childhood. Somehow it was so exciting then, the air felt crisper, and everything just felt. . .  better.

Now? Not that my life isn’t great, I love it but I wish I could celebrate my favorite holiday in a way that would do it some justice. Batman and I finally got Wi-Fi at the house but we don’t have cable, not that I’m complaining but as a kid I used to live for those horror movie or even Disney movie marathons. I enjoyed watching kids in the movies do what I couldn’t: trick or treat and explore haunted houses.

It appears I’ve caught a case of nostalgia and it seems to be lingering. Oh, well, for the most part I had a happy childhood and there’s nothing wrong with missing the things that brought you childish joy.

Leave a Reply

