Personal

Reconnecting

“You don’t have to have anything in common with people you’ve known since you were five. With old friends, you’ve got your whole life in common.”
―Lyle Lovett

I reached out to an old friend yesterday. I want to try and repair our friendship. I made (very false) assumptions and pushed him away. He doesn’t bear any hard feelings but. . . . I get the sense that our friendship will never be the same. He’d been through an ordeal that would break weaker men. He’s changed. I’ve changed and I’m not sure if for the best or worse. People change and sometimes discover that they no longer fit together like they used to. It’s only been a day but my friend and I have to discover if we still “fit” like we used to.

I took my last final a few hours ago. It was a math final and I, brilliantly, showed up without a calculator. I’ll be lucky if I get a D. I’m surprisingly not as upset about that as I should be. My first year of college is over. All of that damn stress is gone! I’m probably going to have to find a new job in my hometown. I don’t think I’ll be able to afford the price of commuting. Most of my check would go to gas.

I’ve been really scatterbrained today. I don’t know why. It’s like my body is moving faster than my mind, like there’s a lag time. Oh well. My first year of college is over.

Leave a Reply

