Personal

Dream Vs. Reality

“You don’t love someone because they’re perfect, you love them in spite of the fact that they’re not.”

― Jodi Picoult

I think I’m in love with Batman. That would sound more ground breaking without the ‘I think.’ It’s just. . . I don’t know how to explain it. He. . . isn’t who or what I’d imagined I would fall for. Does that make sense? The guy that I’m dating and falling for is nothing like the guy I’d dreamed I would be dating and falling for. I’m not sure if that is a good thing or bad thing. It makes me wonder if I’m in the right relationship or if it’s okay to not be with the guy of your dreams. I wonder if the guy of my dreams even exist. I’ve read way too many romance novels and that sort of influenced the image I have of the guy of my dreams. And Batman doesn’t even come close to it. He’s more. . . real. In fact, this entire relationship has been a revelation. Relationships and dating is nothing like its depicted in romance novels. I guess that’s why they’re considered fiction. They’re not meant to be taken literally. But I did. And I waited for Prince Charming to come and sweep me off my feet. Instead, Batman scaled the walls of my dormitory. And now he’s scaling the walls around my heart. What if this ends? I can live without him. But how would I pick up the pieces of my shattered heart? How would I ever possess any desire to fall in love again? Love is a gamble. And I think I’m losing.

“There is never a time or place for true love. It happens accidentally, in a heartbeat, in a single flashing, throbbing moment.”
― Sarah Dessen

One thought on “Dream Vs. Reality

Leave a Reply

