Personal

Closed Chapter

“You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You must do the thing which you think you cannot do.”

― Eleanor Roosevelt

Today was my last day of high school. I was too tired and relieved to shed any tears but I know I will be sobbing during graduation. I made it. For my family I’ve made history. I’ve accomplished what my own parents didn’t and left footsteps for my siblings to follow. Its bittersweet. I’m both scared and excited for what’s next. I’m not sure if I’m ready for the real world and what it means to be an adult. My grandmother says that a mother is only there to hold your hand for a little while but I’m not ready for her to release mine. Hold me tight. Don’t force me to spread my wings because what if they’re hole-ridden and I fall? Who will catch me then? I’ve always felt like life was passing me by and was eager to grasp it but now that it is in reach I want to run and hide behind my grandmother’s skirts like I used to do as a child. Now that I’m “grown” I just want to curl up in the lap of the one woman that has always been a mother to me and represented safety. I’m not sure I’m ready for what’s next. I don’t know what the future holds. No one does.

4 thoughts on “Closed Chapter

Leave a Reply

